NewSong MTM: Eden Smith

Hello Eden! I’m glad to have you here to hit the midway point in these introductions on a strong note! 😉 Eden is NewSong 2017’s pitch-giver, and in spite of being the youngest member of our group, has probably the most musical responsibility and experience. She knows how to both sing hard and play hard.


If you could sum yourself up in five words, what would those words be?

Puns, Renaissance music, Birkenstocks, family.

Tell us a little about the rest of your family?

I have three older siblings. Cameron works at an art gallery in Pittsburgh, Noah is a middle school history teacher in Virginia, and Maggie has recently moved to Boston after getting married to my new brother-in-law Colin – [Maggie] is a teacher at a Spanish immersion preschool. My parents are fun-loving and awesome. Dad is a pastor, and a high school government and economics teacher, and my mom is the administrator at Reformed Presbyterian Theological Seminary (RPTS).

Tell us a little about the current church you attend (at home or at college or both)?

I attend Covenant Fellowship Reformed Presbyterian Church, where my dad is the pastor. I like the strong focus on hospitality and inner city missions. We are located in Wilkinsburg, which is not a great part of town, but we focus on reaching the people who live there and showing them the love of God.

Why did you initially audition for NewSong?

I was, at first, very determined not to be in NewSong. My mom had been in it and been the assistant director, and my older sister Maggie had also been in it. I liked touring and singing, but I didn’t think this [NewSong] way of doing it was my thing. However, I was encouraged by people to think and pray about it, and one day I told my mom I wanted to audition, and here I am.

Final meal if you were on death row?

Biggest steak possible, prepared medium rare. I really like meat and fruits, so a large assortment of [both]. Oh, and sour gummy worms. I love those things.

What do you do for relaxation or fun?

I am usually watching TV/Netflix or reading books. I also am into lettering or typography, and making my own artwork that way.

 

I listen to a lot of music, with the latest being Don’t Kill My Vibe by Sigrid and Fleet Foxes’ new album Crack-Up.

One little-known fact about you?

I really enjoy Renaissance music, especially high church music from that period. I guess that’s a little-known fact because someone would only know that if they asked me about my hopes and dreams for the future. My ideal career would be to sing in the Tallis Scholars, which is a small chamber group based in UK – they sing early church music.

One song from NewSong’s current repertoire that gets stuck in your head?

Psalm 113 (Praise the Lord’s Name, arranged by Michael Tabon)

Favorite Bible hero/verse/book/etc.?

[To me, one of the really cool stories] in the Bible is when Daniel was taken into exile in Babylon, and how respected he was. [Even] when he had requests clearly against Babylonian religion, he was still granted them, [because] he [had] gained their respect. When you’re younger, you might feel people don’t really listen to you, but with the example of Daniel you know that isn’t the case. Sticking up for your convictions and faith is very important and God will reward you.

Favorite movie/TV show?

Pride and Prejudice (the newer one). I really like the cinematography and especially the music.

What would you most want people to remember you for?

The girl that brought classical music back. So much of the audience for classical music may not be Christian, even though a lot of classical music and lyrics are Christian. My hope is to help people better understand the lyrics, and minister to people that way.


Thanks for giving us a little window into your personality, Eden!

Leave a Reply

