NewSong MTM: Thomas Kinney

Hello Thomas! I’m glad you were willing to join me on this series. Thomas was one of the few members of NewSong I knew before joining NewSong. We had roomed together the year before, and thus, I had already been acquainted with his being a Trekkie and a ferroequinologist (lover of trains). Blessed with a rich bass voice, he is equally likely to unleash smooth melodies and smooth one-liners.


If you could sum yourself up in five words, what would those words be?

Reformed theology, science fiction, trains.

Tell us a little about the rest of your family?

My mom works at the Department of Job and Family Services. My dad works as a service mechanic at Frito-Lay, and my sister is a music major at the University of Akron.

Tell us a little about the current church you attend (at home or at college or both)?

I currently attend Grace Orthodox Presbyterian Church in Sewickley, Pennsylvania. I like that they sing classic hymns, have very strong preaching, and it is [a church that is] very Christ-entered in its entire service.

Why did you initially audition for NewSong?

NewSong was a large part of what brought me to Geneva. I thought I’d pay it forward a little, and perhaps inspire some other potential college students to come check out Geneva. I like singing and serving the Lord, and [NewSong] wraps it up into one nice package.

Final meal if you were on death row?

Crossroads Pizza (Carrolton, Ohio). And a quart of mint chocolate chip ice cream for dessert.

Image result Related image
Mmm… pizza and ice-cream…

What do you do for relaxation or fun?

I have a model railroad that I like to work on and build up and make stop-motion movies with them. I like collecting [models of] locomotives from the 1940s.

The PRR K4s:

prr k4

And the NYC J3a Hudson:

nyc j3a hudson

One little-known fact about you?

I am a fan of the Comic Sans font. And not using Oxford commas.


The much-maligned Comic Sans?

One song from NewSong’s current repertoire that gets stuck in your head?

Psalm 49 (Hear Ye, All Ye Peoples Hear, arranged by Dr. Robert Copeland)

Favorite Bible hero/verse/book/etc.?

1 Corinthians would be my favorite book. It speaks against sectarianism and presents the Gospel in a loving manner, with the great love chapter of 1 Corinthians 13 and great Resurrection chapter of 1 Corinthians 15. My favorite Bible hero is Jonah, because it shows God’s mercy and redemption at work.

Favorite movie(s)?

The even-numbered movies of the Star Trek series. Go see #2, The Wrath of Khan, if you’ve never seen any of the Star Trek movies.

What would you most want people to remember you for?

Devotion to God; love of God and others. Also having a really large model train set.


Image Credits:
Comic Sans: http://www.onicedesign.it/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/you-are-now-thinking-in-comic-sans.jpg
Crossroads Pizza: https://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http%3A%2F%2Fcrossroadscarrollton.com%2Fassets%2Fasset-1433887700828.png%3Fv%3D0.4975631227151133&imgrefurl=http%3A%2F%2Fcrossroadscarrollton.com%2F&docid=GqBOqFvLFK0abM&tbnid=xWW-xgGzLkxVXM%3A&vet=1&w=1260&h=1107&safe=active&bih=566&biw=1280&ved=0ahUKEwiDpoGStpbVAhVRY1AKHSGFBzIQMwgnKAAwAA&iact=c&ictx=1
Mint Choc Chip Ice Cream: chocolatecoveredkatie.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/vegan-mint-chocolate-chip-ice-cream-recipe.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

