2015: A Review

2015 is nearly at its end, and I decided to take stock of the major events this year that stuck in my head and impacted my life. I praise God there have been more ups than downs, and that I’ve grown in the process. Here are three defining moments or periods from this year that have shaped me as a person.


 

1. My paternal grandmother’s passing.

She passed away early this year, after slipping into a coma. Affectionately called “Nai Nai” by her grandchildren, she was a feisty woman with a deep love of God, a great cook, and a caring grandmother.

She always said that if God had no more work for her on earth, she would willingly go. If He still had work for her, He would keep her here. In fact, she had had near brushes with death, but God had healed her so she could continue to bring the Gospel to her friends.

The stories I heard of her unwavering faith and determination to raise a family out of poverty were incredible. Despite not having much education, she ran a business selling fried noodles and other packed meals. All four of her children went on to graduate from college.

To her last months with us, she would still be found in the kitchen, overseeing our maid’s preparation of the food. Many of the dishes I will miss eating sprang from her skilled hands.

Many of my best memories were made in her house in Klang. Many Chinese New Year gatherings and Lantern Festivals took place in her house, and my cousins and I used to have lots of fun during those times.

A few days before she passed, my family visited her in the hospital, and I got the chance to speak to her, and in a way, say goodbye. I still remember riding the bus home from college when my mom called me to let me know she had passed on peacefully and without pain. I grieved, but it was tempered with the knowledge she was free from an earthly body decimated by age and riddled with health problems.

It was the first time a close family member of mine had died, and the feelings were somewhat new and unfamiliar to me. I realized then that my grief would not swallow me, because I had God’s reassuring promise of eternal life, for her, and also for me. In the past, I had attended Christian funerals, wondering how I’d react when it was me hearing the verses of the Bible about heaven and about being in a better place. At my grandmother’s funeral, those promises became real to me, and I knew then that death would never shake me.


 

2. My completion of my studies in ADTP Sunway.

I was not supposed to be able to study in Malaysia, but doors opened, favour was shown, and I was accepted in December 2013. The Malaysian government had made it close to impossible for a local student to use the SAT to enter a local college. But when God is for us, who can be against us?

The American Degree Transfer Program in Sunway University was my first exposure to classroom-style teaching, group projects, and to writing papers. Looking back on a year-and-a-half in the ADTP, I can say it prepared me for a different style of learning than I had been used to. As a homeschooler, I was used to studying on my own, and slipping away from writing assignments. In the ADTP, I learned to adapt to classroom lectures. I learned to work with, motivate, and lead students with differing abilities and personalities from myself. I learned to write in a structured manner and push myself for excellence in the written word, instead of coasting on the strength of my vocabulary and command of the English language.

In particular, I got the chance to dress up in a Renaissance costume for a presentation in Intellectual History class. J I will never turn down the chance to bring my love of acting into the classroom. My history lecturer also gave me an opportunity to serve as a tutor/teaching assistant of sorts in the classes I had previously taken and excelled in: International Relations, Philosophy, and Multicultural America. I got the chance to offer advice and study tips, help mark in-class written activities, and give input into the students’ marks on their presentations. During the presentations, a fellow student and good friend of mine who I had shared many classes with, took the opportunity to write a cheeky title for me.

JARRETT

PROFESSIONAL CRUSHER OF DREAMS

Thanks for the complimentary title, Jordan. 😛 “Axis of Evil” was definitely a keeper; this one, maybe not.

In short, I learned a lot, gained new experiences, and made many new friends (students and lecturers alike). My time in ADTP Sunway is one I will look back with fondness on, for the good memories and as a launchpad into my American journey.


 

3. Geneva College

Early 2015 saw me still blundering around looking for an American university to transfer to. I did not know where I wanted to go. My original goal was Marquette University, as it was nearby my aunt’s place in Wisconsin, and I would be able to save on room and board. Even as I began the application process for Marquette, I learned that a friend of mine, Joshua, was applying to Geneva College, a Christian college in Pennsylvania. I thought, “Well, it’d be nice to have a friend with me. Plus, I know he’s been researching colleges in detail, so it’s probably a good one.” I know, I am a bit lazy and clingy, but it worked out pretty well, I’d say.

In the end, Marquette wanted too high a financial guarantee, and Geneva accepted me and offered me a scholarship. My admissions counsellor, the awesome Jillian, was also really friendly and helpful, and that contributed greatly to my favourable impression of Geneva.

I’d say I’ve developed a decent bit from the nervous boy who stepped onto the plane in late August. Being in the States was the furthest I’ve ever been away from my family. I had to learn to be more responsible and self-sufficient. I had to learn to handle a bank account, to get a job and earn money, and to plug in to a new church family. I had always been in a church where my dad was a pastor, so to have to engage with other Christian adults without that safety net was a slightly nervy experience. I thank God I found Beaver Falls Christian Assembly, a church I can call family and can serve in. Pastor Dale and the members there have made me feel welcome and have taken care of me, both spiritually and physically. May God pour down His abundant blessings on you all according to the measure you’ve blessed me.

I wouldn’t trade these last few months for anything. I’ve made some amazing memories already: hiking to the G, watching the soccer games down at Reeves Field, and making a movie (go watch it! Here’s the link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gVvMl1Ig9cY). I’ve met amazing friends. I don’t want to start naming names and risk missing someone, but you know who you are, and I thank you for being a part of my American experience and helping me settle in to an unfamiliar culture. Most of all, I thank God for my inner circle of friends; you three know who you are. I praise God for brothers and a sister like you, whom I can laugh with, confide in, and gain strength and support from.

And as for my new sister, well, I’m not going to embarrass you by calling you out here, but I never expected I’d leave a sister in Malaysia (I miss you, Yoanna!) and come here only to be blessed with another sister. You’re an inspiration and a joy to be around, and one of the best and most important parts of my 2015. Thank you for trusting me, looking out for me, and being the same-aged sister I always wanted.


 

I arrived in the U.S.A with two suitcases and a carry-on bag; I’ve already gained so much more: experiences, memories, friends, and so much more. I absolutely cannot wait for the year to come.

Citius, Altius, Fortius!

Leave a comment